What If We Were Wrong about High Fructose Corn Syrup?

The Truth about High Fructose Corn Syrup

Sweet Surprise or Health Demise?

— By Becky Hand, Licensed & Registered Dietitian

If you had asked me five years ago if I thought there was something unique about high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) that could lead to weight problems, I would have said “yes.” In fact, I was one of those Registered Dietitians who encouraged families to beware of the “evil” high fructose corn syrup.

Today I am here to confess that as a trained, nutrition professional, I blatantly ignored the No. 1 rule of providing reliable nutrition education for the public. I forgot to rely on published research and evidence for my nutrition recommendations! So today, I am going to set the record straight after reviewing not just one research study but all of them. Read on to find out whether high fructose corn syrup deserves its bad rap and how it really compares with regular sugar . . .

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/nutrition_articles.asp?id=486

One thought on “What If We Were Wrong about High Fructose Corn Syrup?”

  1. With all the media hype it is interesting to see this posted from as far back as 2009. There was a recent study done at St. Michael s hospital that basically concluded the biggest danger is the over-consumption sugary food and drinks.

Leave a Reply

