chocolate is good for you

At least it is if you stick to cocoa, or chocolate with little saturated fat. Cocoa has flavonoids — the same health-boosting substances found in tea, red wine and soy foods. Studies suggest the flavonoids may help protect against heart disease and stroke. They slow blood’s ability to clot, and reduce potential for arterial plaque. One problem: Most commercial chocolate is made with partially hydrogenated vegetable oils and cholesterol-raising trans fatty acids — not to mention all the sugar and calories! For an occasional treat, choose dark chocolate, or cocoa made with lowfat milk.

5 thoughts on “chocolate is good for you”

  1. I would just like to point out how on my browser, this
    image is the second one to be cut off by the side bar.

    I use these pre-setup blog sites so that I can spen my
    time adding content to the blog and not spend time
    writing code of any sort… spending time messing with
    the back end. Most of the more updated sites around the
    web automaticlay format images to the size that will fit
    in the space and link to a larger image if you want to
    see it larger.

    I have spent time on the users back end trying to fix
    these images but they don’t work. This wordpress is
    getting buggier the more I use it.

    If anyone knows of a better alternative please let me
    know and I will check it out.

    So far wordpress is the best option out there. I like
    the organization, categories and tag surfing. The rest
    is either common to the rest of the free blogsites or
    worse.

    Sorry for any continued warped or buggie posts that are
    beyond my scope here.

  2. Okay this pisses me off even more!!!! I went back and
    fitted the image to the width of the text area, I link it
    to its source so you can see it full size, I save it and
    look at it on the site only to see that its gone.

    It is too much screwing around and waiting for their
    slow software to load, for me to keep playing with this.
    I think you can link to the text that has mysteriously
    taken the place of the image.

    I will always link the articles and/or pictures for you
    to see in their original context and to give credit to
    their creators, hosts and such.

    Thanks to wordpress for a lot of great free features…
    but the bugs still piss me off and waste my time.

  3. Just wanted to say that I agree with your post. I also want to add that one documented way that flavonoids work is that they stimulate endothelial cells (cells lining the inside of blood vessels) to produce more of Nitric Oxide gas (which they produce naturally). This gas relaxes blood vessels and slows down platelet aggregation (clumping). Both are desirable physiological actions that help lower blood pressure and slow down blood clotting that plays a role in heart attacks and strokes in people with iscaemic heart disease.

  4. Ramy,

    Thanks for the added info. I have a friend who is a
    choclateer, he does some amazing magic with the stuff and
    is one reason I posted this. I hope to collect more info
    on chocolate and post it here.

  5. About the images, I changed skins or styles so that larger images will show up since they don’t work well when resized.
    Also, maybe this orignal, older style won’t have as many bugs as the one I was using.

Leave a Reply

